Cover letter for PN presidency

Duc Ha Duong
3 min readApr 28, 2021

--

Hello,

My name is Duc and I am candidate for the presidency of Passerelles Numériques.

As you might know Michel had to let his seat for personal reasons in December 2020, and Aude and Bruno accepted to take a temporary role for the first quarter of 2021. We’re now well in to Q2 2021, and after a few weeks, both our co-presidents confirmed they do not wish to renew for a longer term, and called for a board meeting tomorrow Thursday to discuss the situation. I shared my intent to apply for the role.

Being part of the board since 2015, this is not a radical change for PN. I played an active role in the definition of the strategic plan that we are now rolling out and I fully endorse it. So I’m as much excited as you are to carry on all the ongoing programs !

Does it mean nothing is going to change, really ? Well, I will still do my best to bring some value. I will give a particular attention to the parts where I can contribute, such as intensifying our integration into our ecosystem by pursuing more ties with partner organisations, and restrengthening our community of friends and supporters.

Besides that, I have asked my friend Philippe to apply for the position of Treasurer, in replacement of Sixtine. Philippe came to PN in Da Nang in 2015, as an employee of Société Générale, and now he’s retired and happy to spend 2 days a week for PN.

Philippe on the right

I’m 46, a happy father of three, Roman is 15, Valentin 13, and Fleur is 10. My wife Alexandra is French and produce online training videos in the legal field.. We live in Paris but I travel to Vietnam quite much in normal times, to visit the Officience staff in Saigon, the Offies.

I’m a practitioner of managerial permaculture. David Marquet being a good example, you can see his story here :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pYKH2uSax8U

Actually, my favorite book on that topic is “Reinventing organizations” by Frederic Laloux, and I actively promote and practice the mindset described in that book. So much that at the company I co-founded, Officience we translated that book into Vietnamese ! We have the rights to distribute the electronic copy, I’ll share the link. Sorry Cambodia, sorry Philippines I don’t have local versions for you :-(

In a nutshell, managerial permaculture is based on the belief that we all have faith into each other, and that everyone is doing his or her best. If the proper conditions of psychological safety are met, we can be our true selves, we don’t need to receive orders from a boss, as we are inspired by a higher purpose that emerges within the collective from the accumulation of all our singularities….

I’ll stop here, I could go on for hours as I am passionate about this topic ! But don’t hesitate to ping me if you want to discuss it further.

Just one thing : I have stopped using email a while ago, so please don’t write to me using email. However I’m on Slack everyday so please please talk to me there, I’d be glad to get to know you better despite the impossibility to travel. I’m also on Whatsapp, Telegram, Signal (you’ll find my phone number in Slack), Facebook Messenger, LinkedIn … at your convenience !

And I love donuts.

--

--

Duc Ha Duong

Entrepreneur, father, barbarian, dreamer, prospectivist, teal evangelist, optimistic, french-vietnamese, parisian, feminist, caretaker. Blind to legal fictions.